5min Gourmet: Eggs Florentine

5 Minute Gourmet: Eggs Florentine

I was telling a friend the other day about a single-serving Eggs Florentine I made for myself for breakfast earlier that morning. She asked me how I found time to make something like that for breakfast on a work day. It DID sound quite fancy for a work day, if you think about it, doesn’t it? I paused for a second, realizing that my method was quite simple and time effective. It just SOUNDED gourmet. I considered letting everyone think I was a gourmet chef every day of my life, but alas, that’s not the case. So, I decided to share my secret and the truth is it only took about 5 minutes to make.

As an added bonus, this morning ‘fine dining’ has the benefit of being a hearty way to begin a day with high protein, whole grains, veggies and is satisfying to the tongue. Plus, using the nonfat dairy, it’s lower fat than traditional Eggs Florentine. A healthy breakfast is always key to a good day, right? And in just 5 minutes? How can you say no?

But of course, I can’t just let it rest there. I had to put my theory to the test with stopwatch & camera*   in hand. Here are the results… (*Disclaimer: Taking pictures while on the clock does not turn out so well, but you get the idea)

5 Minute Gourmet

Lowfat Eggs Florentine with Creamy Parmesan Garlic Sauce

  • 1 egg
  • 1 slice wheat bread (I used 2 small slices of Judy’s Breadsticks – Vegan with sunflower seeds)
  • Spinach (small handful)
  • Tomato (a couple of slices)
  • Parmesan cheese (approx 1 tea)
  • Fat Free milk (approx 1 Tbsp)
  • Fat Free cream cheese (approx 1 tea)
  • Minced garlic or garlic paste (approx 1/4 tea)

Ready….?  GO!

0:00

Fill pan with 1 inch water. Place on stove over high heat

0:15

Pull out all ingredients: Egg, bread, spinach, tomato, parmesan cheese, milk, cream cheese, garlic.

Pull out utensils and tools: Sharp knife, spoon, fork, cutting board, plate, small microwave safe bowl.

5 Minute Gourmet: Eggs Florentine

0:55

Place the bread on your plate. Throw a handful of spinach over the top. Microwave for 20 seconds.

Slice the tomatoes while the bread is in microwave. Place the tomatoes on top of the spinach.

5 Minute Gourmet: Eggs Florentine

2:11

Drop egg in the now boiling water. Turn heat down to medium-high. Let it cook for approx 2 mins.

2:15

Put parmesan, milk, cream cheese and garlic in small bowl. Stir lightly.

2:55

Microwave for 20 seconds. Stir.

4:15

Remove egg from pan and place on top of the spinach. Drizzle sauce over the top.

4:58

Done. Now, go eat! 🙂

5 Minute Gourmet: Eggs Florentine

Nutrition: 150 cal, 6g fat, 14g carb, 2.5g fiber, 3g sugars, 11g protein

One thought on “5min Gourmet: Eggs Florentine

Leave a comment