Cran Apple Bran Muffins (Faux VitaTop Muffin Copycat)

I have developed a love for the lowfat, low calorie muffin tops that are the Vitalicious VitaTop Muffin Tops. However, I DON’T love the exorbitant amount of money these little morsels cost. So, I set out to make my own.  My two favorite flavors are Deep Chocolate and Cranberry Apple Bran.  I think I have successfully found recipes that copy both (chocolate one to come at a later time).  After finding a nice base recipe for a Cranberry Apple Bran recipe (full fat), I started tweaking (while enduring some pretty dry/flat versions) until I got a lowfat/low cal version of it that I’m happy with. And here I am to share my results with you.

Plus, like the VitaTops, these are right around 95 calories each with just 0.4 g fat and about 2.2g fiber. (i.e, good for you!). The full nutrition stats are at the bottom of the post for all of you out there who want the deets.

These muffins are GOOD. So good I can’t wait for them to cool down after they come out of the oven and generally end up burning my tongue off on the super hot apples inside. Worth the burn.

Cran Apple Bran Muffins

Makes 18 muffins. (faux vitatop muffin copycat recipe)

  • 1 c wheat bran
  • 3/4 c skim milk
  • 1 1/4 c wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • 1/4 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c splenda
  • 1/3 c applesauce, unsweetened
  • 1/4 c nonfat egg substitute (or egg whites)
  • 1 Tbsp vinegar
  • 1 1/2 chopped, peeled apples
  • 1/3 c Craisins
  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly coat a 18 cups of 2 muffin tins with nonstick spray.
  2. Combine wheat bran and milk. Let rest 5 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a large bowl.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine brown sugar, splenda, applesauce, egg and vinegar.
  5. Add wheat bran and milk mixture and wet ingredient mixture to the dry mix and stir until just combined (do not over mix)
  6. Stir in apples and Craisins (or reserve Craisins to sprinkle over the top if you wish).
  7. Divide batter evenly between 18 muffin cups. Bake 12-15 mins, until a toothpick comes out clean.
  8. Devour!

Nutrition: 95 calories. 0.4g fat. 20.7g carb. 2.2g fiber. 2.2g protein.

10 thoughts on “Cran Apple Bran Muffins (Faux VitaTop Muffin Copycat)

  1. I’d love the recipe for the chocolate version when you get it done! that would be awesomely delicious!!!

  2. Vonica… I actually DO have a chocolate version that I can share! I’ll have to work on that for you and get it posted. 🙂

  3. The muffins look SO good! I’m totally going to try these!! I hope you get the Deep Chocolate one up soon!

  4. These muffins sound great. I think I will try them this weekend. I would also like your recipe for the chocolate version.

  5. I’m not sure when I’ll get a chance to post the Chocolate version. I’ll try to get on that sooner rather than later though. 🙂

  6. If you prefer not to use Splenda, you can use regular granulated sugar. This will raise the calorie values, however. All other natural sweeteners such as honey, agave nectar or brown rice syrup will not only increase the calories, they will also change the integrity of the recipe and will add too much moisture.

  7. Thank you so much for the recipe. I too will be waiting for the chocolate ones. On the subject of sweeteners, I have switched over to Stevia. Cheapest is at Sam’s Club.

Leave a comment